Memorial Day and Heroes


 Update below

 

BooMan has a post up re: Chris Hayes.  BooMan links to criticisms of Chris’ comments here.

While reading the comments at the Newsbusters site, it became obvious we were in the middle of a Storm of Stupidity.

Where do I begin?

First, the use of the word effete.  Ineffectual?  Not any more than some talking heads.  As far as I am concerned, he is very effective.  Maybe they are just jealous because he is 1. smart, 2. well-educated and 3. he has a platform from which to espouse his views.

But to the main point about “military” and “heroes.”    I do not see any of the commenters at the Newsbusters post claiming to be offended because they are veterans.

As far as I’m concerned, if you don’t have at least one Honorable Discharge certificate from  a successful enlistment in a branch of our military, S.T.F.U.  You got no dog in this fight.  You do qualify as a sunshine patriot.  You may qualify as a coward because you did not want to have someone telling you what to do – all day long.

IMO, most people that served from one enlistment up to 30 years, are not and were not heroes.  They signed up to do a job, they did it and they were discharged or retired.  I served 21 years in the U.S. Navy.  I am not a hero.  I went where the Navy sent me and did the best job of which I was capable.  My job was to repair the radar on the ship.  The guy wanting to kill me/us was many miles away.  I still have all 10 fingers and 10 toes.

I will salute the veterans who are buried – anywhere -  and those who left part of their body on some foreign battlefield.

This day used to be called “Decoration Day” where the grave markers of veterans had a flag placed next to it.  I still think of it that way.

 

Update:  I went to the site at Newsbusters that I linked to above to comment.  When I could not find a way to Login, I sent an email.

 

From John Bates

 

We’re not currently accepting new accounts due to a changeover we’re working on for our comment system. Please check in next week if you’d like to participate. Everything should be working by then on the new system.

Sorry for the inconvenience.

Explore posts in the same categories: Politics

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 46 other followers

