Single Payer Thoughts


This went out in today’s mail.  Thanks to Maha for lighting the fire.

The Honorable Sherrod Brown
713 Hart Senate Office Building
Washington, D. C.  20510

Dear Senator:

As a sixty eight year old who has been on Medicare, both Parts A and B, for over three years and on CHAMPUS/Tricare and Tricare for Life for over thirty years I am both familiar with and thoroughly satisfied with government (single payer) health care.

Perhaps, as a person who is satisfied with my health care, I could say to myself, “Hey, I got mine, why should I care what Congress does?”  But that is not the way my parents raised me.  I was raised to believe that we are all in this together.  I was raised to look out and help those that are less fortunate than I.

It is in that vein that I write imploring you to go to bat for ‘single-payer’ health coverage for the United States of America.

As far as I am concerned, the United States already has the administrative infrastructure in place via Medicare to administer a single-payer system.  Just expand the Medicare admin office to cover the whole three hundred plus million people in the country.

The ultimate purpose of a private held business (health care insurers) is to return a profit to investors.  As far as I am concerned, all of the health care insurers can go out of business.

There are plenty of government run health care programs in Europe plus Canada and Japan that the U.S. could cherry-pick the best parts and craft a superior system.

Or, as a compromise, provide all citizens the same health care (and cost) that you enjoy as a government employee.

Respectfully,

Explore posts in the same categories: Politics

Leave a Reply

