What Is The Goal ?


I want to believe President Obama.  I really do.  After eight years of a mediocre, at best, administration, I feel that we have an intelligent President who has brought in intelligent advisers.  And I want to believe that he is getting the best advice possible and that he is going to make the best decision for the country.

But being both a sentient and rational citizen of the republic, I really want the president to explain to me and my fellow citizens why it is in our national interest to have 70,000 or 100,000 troops in Afghanistan.  And I’m not buying the old Bush line of, “We’re fighting them there so we won’t have to fight them here.”  The Taliban is not going to cross the Atlantic Ocean.

So, I have some questions that I would like to have answered:

  • What are our objectives in Afghanistan?
  • How will we know we have met or objectives?
  • Who is the enemy?
  • Are we involved in ‘state’ building?
  • How will people with no concept of our democracy respond?
  • Are we there to protect Israel from Pakistan’s nukes?
  • Are natural resources (oil and gas) part of our reasons for being there?

The stories are legion about corruption and payoffs between and by the tribal leaders and the warlords in both Afghanistan and Pakistan.  I mention Pakistan because most folks do not recognize the Durand Line as the border between the two countries.  The most recent presidential election in Afghanistan was rife with ballot box stuffing.

So, I cannot and will not support an open-ended commitment that the President may ask for with out the kind of answers that most politicians will not like to give.

Explore posts in the same categories: Afghanistan, Foreign Policy, Israel, National Security, Pakistan, Taliban

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

