Yesterday


Yesterday wasn’t a great day.  Wouldn’t even qualify as a good day.  Actually it was a bad day.  If only the first event happened, I’d say it might qualify as good, but . . .

Well, first off, I got an email from our cell phone provider saying we owed an exorbitant amount of dollars.  Being wary of someone phishing, I called my cell phone provider.  Yup, I did owe the money.  But,  I said, “I paid it on-line with Bill Payer on 30 Sep.”  Well, they had no record of it but my Cchecking account showed a decrease of $293.  After lengthy investigation, I discovered that I had screwed up and sent the payment to our previous provider of cell phone service.  When I contacted them, they could find no record of them receiving our payment.  After finding out their requirements, I was off to the bank who was very helpful and even faxed everything to the provider at no cost to me. I guess that is one of the advantages of living in a small town.

But then the really bad news that still leaves me down came.  A friend was killed while riding his motorcycle to work Monday night.  From channel 7 news in Dayton, Ohio’

http://www.whiotv.com/news/21278046/detail.html

Piqua Motorcyclist Killed In Crash

Steve Baker, Northern Bureau Chief

Posted: 10:39 pm EDT October 12, 2009Updated: 6:36 am EDT October 13, 2009

MIAMI COUNTY, Ohio — Miami County deputies said that a motorcyclist was killed Monday night when a car turned into his path at the intersection of County Road 25-A and Farrington Road just south of Piqua.

He is identified as Christopher Hubley, 52, Piqua. Hubley was on his way to work third shift at Hobart Brothers in Troy when the crash was reported to Miami County 911 at 8:41 p.m. According to the crash report, Hubley was not wearing a helmet at the time of the mishap. He was pronounced dead at the scene.

Deputies identified the driver of the car as Danielle Barnhart, 19, of Piqua. Her car ended up partially into a cornfield. Barnhart was treated for minor injuries and released from Upper Valley Medical Center near Troy.

The crash remains under investigation.

What I cannot get out of my head is the following question, “What was that nineteen year old thinking/doing when she started to turn left across traffic?”

I’m sure we’ll never know.

Explore posts in the same categories: Society

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

