Why ? ?


If I said that I am having a hard time understanding the hate, for lack of any better word, coming from the extreme right of today’s American society, it would be a gross understatement.

I am aghast at the hate coming from groups, of which I could, possibly, be part of because of my background, but which groups are anathema to the very core of my beliefs.

First, it isn’t exactly a secret that a lot of military retirees are anti-Obama.   I don’t know if they do not like POTUS because of his policies or because of the color of his skin.  Colonel Bud Day, quoted in the North West Florida Daily News said

“You know, we just got through (electing) a politician who can run his mouth at Mach 1, a black one, and now we have a Hispanic who can run his mouth at Mach 1,” Day said. “You look at their track records and they’re both pretty gritty. Charlie has not got a gritty track record.”

Day confirmed he was speaking of Obama and Rubio.

“You’ve got the black one with the reading thing. He can go as fast as the speed of light and has no idea what he’s saying,” Day said. “I put Rubio in that same category, except I don’t know if he’s using one of those readers.”

This is the ‘family friendly’ version of what other less well known retired military say.

I am one of the many retirees from the U.S. military and I am in complete disagreement with Mr. Day and people who think like him.

Second, there are a lot of folks on the American right that have much more education than I.  People that have a demonstrated ability to think and parse words in a way that I envy.  Think of Glenn Reynolds, a.k.a. Instapundit.  Mr. Reynolds is not only a lawyer and a member of the Tennessee bar, he is a law professor.  That means he graduated at the top of his law school class.  He is the brightest of the bright, and, dare I say it, he has wasted that brilliance on hate.

I have a Bachelor of Science in Business Administration, summa cum laude, which got me into law school.  So while I cannot parse, I am of at least average intelligence.  Yet, I think Mr. Reynolds, Mr. Addington, Mr. Yoo and other lawyers are disabusing the Constitution, perhaps, simply because they think they are so smart they can get away with it.

Third.  White males. White males seem to be pissed-off about everything.  In forty years, the experts say, whites will be a minority in the USA.  Big hairy deal. First, is that bad ??  Second, how many of them will be around to find out how much better it might be?

I would think that if just some of the members of each of these groups, and a lot of people, like me, are members of all three groups, put forth a positive effort to make things better, there would be a whole lot less for them to complain about.

Explore posts in the same categories: Domestic Issues

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

