I Don’t Vote For Republicans


The first election that I was eligible to vote in was the 1962 mid-terms.  I did once vote for a Republican.   He was a personal friend, running for county prosecutor.  He lost.  We lived in a Dem county.  He is the only Repub I’ve voted for.

I worked hard to help then-Senator Obama become President-Elect in November 2008.  He ran as a Democrat.

And while I do not hold Ralph Nader in high regard for a number of reasons, I think that he has nailed it with this comment

“It has become a widely-noticed habit of yours [Obama’s] to concede or to adopt both the Republican terms of policymaking and Republican policies and programs,” Nader wrote in a letter to the president. “For many of your 2008 voters, this [deal] will indeed be the last straw for any active support they might have considered providing you … [and] will signal even greater capitulations to the Republicans during the next two years.”

I cannot see how a President McCain would have been any worse.

Continuing with Nader

“remarkable political, moral and strategic weakness” in brokering a tax deal with Republicans.

Perhaps, I’m beating a dead horse, but in 2012 I cannot see myself casting a vote for the office of president.  I’m not even sure I can see myself voting at all.

Oh, and back to the title of this post,  either POTUS is a Republican-lite or a spineless wimp.

Explore posts in the same categories: Politics

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

