Two Books


I am reading two books.  The one I am almost done reading is Jack Kennedy: Elusive Hero by Chris Mathews.

The one I just started is Understanding the Palestinian-Israeli Conflict: A Primer by Phyllis Bennis.

While these books are on very different subjects, they share, for me, one common theme.  I knew a little about each subject.  I was an adult when Kennedy was inaugurated, in fact I was in Washington at the time, in 1961.  I try to follow the news on mid-east goings on.

I guess one could say that my fragmentary knowledge was similar to a partially complete skeleton recovered by Leakey or Johansson.  These two authors not only complete the skeleton but they flesh it out with muscle, skin and hair.

I know that Mathews is a JFK-ophile, but he puts it all out there, the good, the bad and all the warts.

Bennis puts items in her volume you will not fine in print – anywhere.  She is tough on all parties.  The more wrong they have been, the tougher she is.

Either book will be a great read for the holidays.

Explore posts in the same categories: Politics

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

