Donna Rann, R. I. P.


Two days ago, 29 February, a tornado rated at ER-4, ripped through Harrisburg, Illinois.  Like a thousand other small towns, no one in the larger country notices.

I noticed because for my last fifteen years in the work force, I worked in Harrisburg, Illinois as an employee of the U.S. Forest Service.  I still have a daughter and two grand children living there.

A Forest Service employee, Donna Rann, was at home when the storm demolished her house and killed her and her husband.

Her and my employment over lapped by a few months and I cannot say that I knew her.  But, I’ve know B for over 21 years, B is a good friend of both mine and Mrs. Chief.

And B is devastated that she lost a very good friend.

There are many pictures of the devastation wrought in south east Harrisburg in the web. I cannot find the picture of Donna Rann’s son going through the rubble of the house that was on the front page of the newspaper today.

Explore posts in the same categories: Politics

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Donna Rann, R. I. P.”


  1. […] Liberty Street "Of all the various virtues, the most beloved is liberalism." — Aristotle « Donna Rann, R. I. P. […]


Leave a Reply

