Songs


I am a child of the Pop music of the ’50s, ’60s and the ’70s.

For a start, I will comment on what I call “concept” songs.

The best and still true id “The Sound of Silence,” sung by Paul Simon and Art Garfunkel.  As true today, as evidenced by the millions who voted for Romney, as it was back in the ’60s when the Viet Nam war was heating up.

Another concept song that I wish I could make happen is “Time in a Bottle” as sung by Jim Croce.

And then there is another small set of songs that have guided and defined who I am.  And I do not know which of them is the most important because they are entwined like the snakes on a caduceus.

The first, alphabetically, is The Eagles “Take it to the Limit”.  I pushed the edge, the limits most of my working life.  With a Type A personality, I was pushy.

“Takin’ Care Of Business” by Bachman-Turner Overdrive is the other part of who I am.  Not like the song says, “I love to work at nothin’ all day,” but more like “Taking care of business and working overtime.”  I always made sure the critical most important stuff got done.  And when the critical, necessary stuff is out of the way, the rest of the job will take care of itself.

Anyway, working long, hard hours some days, never any overtime, but building my credibility with my boss got me through forty-five years in the work force.

Just my thoughts on this First Day of December, 2012.

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Politics

Leave a Reply

