Archive for February 24, 2013

A Different View

February 24, 2013

Most blogs are either liberal/progressive or conservative/TeaParty.

I am going to do something different. First,  I am intentionally going to be ambiguous.

I graduated from high school in the 1950s in a small town in New England.  There were between 20 and 50 other students besides me that graduated that day from that high school in that small town.

I have recently had email contact with one of those graduates.  We have not been in contact with one another in around sixty years.  I believe him when he tells me that after getting a BA from one of the most prestigious schools in the country, he enlisted, not an officer, in the Marine Corps, was awarded at least two Purple Hearts and spent some time recuperating in a Naval Hospital.  Following that he got an MBA from that same prestigious school and has made tons of money.

Now, this is what I am going to do.  What follows in this post and the next one will be email exchanges between us that highlight our very different view of the political situation in which the United States finds itself.

Warning:  The personal names have been xxxx’d out and place names are disguised.

(more…)

