Bush Olympics


Both Speaker of the House Nancy Pelosi and Presidential candidate Senator Clinton have independently said that President Bush should boycott the opening ceremonies of the Olympics this summer in China. I suspect that there are a lot people that would like to see a noticeable protest after the way China mis-handled the situation in Tibet.

I would like to protest the Olympics. However, I already do not watch them because of the way they are stage-managed, so in this situation there is not much I can do.

And, I suspect, there will not be much President Bush will do. It will be made plain to Mr. Bush that if he causes China to lose ‘face,’ there will be a pre-election embarrassment that will cost the Republicans seats in Congress. We are so far in debt to China, trying to finance this obscene military excursion in Iraq, that when China says, “Jump,” Bush says, “How high?”

Mr Bush may make some noise about not being there for the opening ceremonies but my instinct says he will be a good little toady and be there.

Explore posts in the same categories: Politics

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a comment