Archive for September 21, 2009

Easy

September 21, 2009

The dialogue in the United States has gotten loud, polarized and over-the-top.  Both sides admit it and whatever little remains of the political center, decries it.  Could it be that it is much easier for bloggers to criticize the other side and view all events through a Manichean prism?

My first attempt at blogging was a blog named “ChiefSez.”  I tried mightily to present a fair representation of the topic under consideration.  But, I found that I had neither the time, the intellect nor the ability to research and present a “fair and balanced” discourse on a subject.  Any subject.  I am not a journalist and I am not a reporter and I am nor a writer.  So, I present my opinion.  Or I cut and paste other people’s opinions, giving credit when appropriate.

So between bloggers and “talk radio” perhaps we are part of the problem.

But let us not ignore the Main-Stream Media, typically referred to as MSM.  Newspapers and television are in the business of making a profit.  Network television at least has entertainment (personally, I do not call it that) to offset the News Division. Newspapers must rely solely on advertising revenue and sales to customers.  Both print and visual mediums try to appeal to the broadest audience possible but as the right and left get farther apart the middle shrinks, they end up appealing to less and less people and their viability is threatened.

No news here.  Newspapers all across the country are disappearing.

If you have any good suggestions, please leave them in the ‘Comments’ section.